University of Skopje

Logo of University of Skopje

The Saints Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje (Macedonian: Универзитет „Св. Кирил и Методиј“ во Скопје) is the oldest and largest public university in North Macedonia. It is named after the Byzantine Christian theologians and missionaries Cyril and Methodius. As of 2018–19 school year, a total of 25,220 students are enrolled at the university. Furthermore, the teaching and research staff number 2,390 people; this is further supported by over 300 members in the university’s institutions.

The primary language of instruction is Macedonian, but there are a number of courses which are carried out in English, German, French, Italian. There are also courses in the second official language of North Macedonia, in Albanian. The university is divided into 23 faculties and 10 research institutes. One of the Ss. Cyril and Methodius University’s mission is to be an autonomous, scientific and higher educational university that provides teaching, scholar and applicative activities in technical, natural sciences and mathematics, bio-technical, artistic, medical and social sciences.

Scroll to Top